State Symbols

The Republic of Azerbaijan Flag

The Republic of Azerbaijan Flag
On November 9th, 1918 government of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic adopted resolution on national three colored flag. After the fall of ADP on April 28, 1920 and establishment of Soviet power in Azerbaijan this flag was rejected.
On November 17, 1990 three colored flag was for the second restored in its rights by the resolution of Supreme Majlis of Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic and accepted as national flag of Autonomous Republic. At the same session Supreme Majlis of Nakhichevan solicited Supreme Soviet of Azerbaijan SSR for recognition of three colored flag as a national symbol of Azerbaijan.
On February 5, 1991 Supreme Soviet of Azerbaijan Republic considered a solicitation for recognition three colored flag as a National Flag of Azerbaijan.
National Flag of the Republic of Azerbaijan consists of three equal in length horizontal stripes. The upper stripe is blue, middle is red, lower is green colored. Blue color has meaning of Turkic origin of Azerbaijani nation, red color has reflects the heading to modernization of society and development of democracy, and the green color shows belonging to Islamic civilization. In the center of red stripe on both sides of flag there is white crescent and eight-angled star. Proportions of width of the flag to the length is 1:2.

All rights reserved.
© Milli Majlis Republic of Azerbaijan, 2007
Conditions of Use | Contact Us | Useful Links | Site Map