Speaker of Milli Majlis Sahiba Gafarova Meets with Head of Bundestag’s Germany-South Caucasus Parliamentary Group

Chair`s Travels
30 November 2023 | 19:45   

Speaker of the Milli Majlis Sahiba Gafarova has met in Berlin with Johann David Wadephul who heads the Germany-South Caucasus parliamentary group of the Bundestag. That meeting saw an exchange of opinions about the co-operation between our countries and parliaments.

The importance of intensifying the joint work of the legislatures to further the Azerbaijani-German relations’ progress and the need to broaden contacts between our MPs, including between the friendship groups, were both underscored at the meeting. It was said that, certainly, the first visit of Speaker Sahiba Gafarova to Germany as Chair of the Milli Majlis was going to foster an expansion of the bilateral relations.

The Chair of the Milli Majlis told of the situation established in the region, Azerbaijan’s restoration and rebuilding work afoot in the de-occupied territories and our country’s initiatives to normalise relations with Armenia and sign a peace treaty.

The Press and Public Relations Department
The Milli Majlis

The Milli Majlis of the Republic of Azerbaijan - The state legislative power branch organ is a unicameral parliament that has 125 MPs. The MPs are elected as based on the majority electoral system by free, private and confidential vote reliant on the general, equitable and immediate suffrage. The tenure of a Milli Majlis convocation is 5 years.