Members of Azerbaijani Parliamentary Delegations Talk to Participants of Germany-South Caucasus Inter-Parliamentary Connexions Group

01 December 2023 | 14:52   

Members of our parliamentary delegation headed by Milli Majlis Speaker Sahiba Gafarova and on an official visit to the Federal Republic of Germany have held a meeting with the participants of the group of inter-parliamentary relations Germany-South Caucasus. Head of the working group of Milli Majlis on Azerbaijan-Germany inter-parliamentary connexions Nurlan Hasanov and MPs Elnur Abdullayev, Soltan Mammadov and Elshan Musayev took part in the meeting. The sides exchanged views on relations between our countries and parliaments. It was noted that bilateral relations are developing in many spheres successfully and that there are fine opportunities for further expansion of the ties.

Views on co-operation between the friendship groups were exchanged and the importance of mutual visits and contacts was emphasised at the meeting where a confidence was expressed that the current visit of Milli Majlis Speaker Sahiba Gafarova would contribute to the deepening of the bilateral relations. It was said that such contacts could prove useful in terms of information exchange and for discussing topical issues of co-operation between our countries.

The Azerbaijani MPs updated the German colleagues on the current situation in the region and Azerbaijan’s peace initiatives.

Other matters of shared interest were covered at the meeting as well.

The Press and Public Relations Department
The Milli Majlis

The Milli Majlis of the Republic of Azerbaijan - The state legislative power branch organ is a unicameral parliament that has 125 MPs. The MPs are elected as based on the majority electoral system by free, private and confidential vote reliant on the general, equitable and immediate suffrage. The tenure of a Milli Majlis convocation is 5 years.