Chair of Milli Majlis Sahiba Gafarova Meets Chair of Uzbekistan Oliy Majlis Senate Tanzila Narbayeva

Chair`s Travels
26 November 2021 | 16:29   

Chair of the Milli Majlis Sahiba Gafarova who is in the Russian Federation currently for the meeting of the CIS Inter-Parliamentary Assembly Council and the 53rd plenary sitting of the IPA has met with Chair of the Senate of the Oliy Majlis of Uzbekistan Tanzila Narbayeva on 26 November.

Sahiba Gafarova spoke at their meeting of the successful advancement of the bilateral co-operation in all areas and of the significant input of the reciprocal visits and conversations of both countries’ presidents in the high level of interaction achieved to date. The friendly bonds of the two countries rest on the common values and historical ties as well as on the joint statements and on the treaties signed during the two-way visits and meetings, according to Mrs Gafarova. There are now adequate legal frameworks for the Azerbaijani-Uzbek relations to be expanded further, she pointed out.

The Chair of the Milli Majlis went further to reference the interaction between the two legislatures, saying that their inter-parliamentary friendship groups were contributing to the evolution of the bilateral co-operation.

The new situation established in our region established following Azerbaijan’s victory in the 44 days’ Patriotic War was mentioned as well. Besides, Mrs Narbayeva was updated on the extensive restoration and rebuilding work going on in the de-occupied provinces of Azerbaijan.

Chair of the Senate of the Oliy Majlis of Uzbekistan Tanzila Narbayeva, too, voiced satisfaction with the progress of the relations between the friendly states. Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan combined efforts in many areas, Mrs Narbayeva remarked, mentioning also the input of the two legislatures in the advance of the Uzbek-Azerbaijani relations.

There was an exchange of views upon other topics of shared interest during the conversation as well.

The Press and Public Relations Department
The Milli Majlis

The Milli Majlis of the Republic of Azerbaijan - The state legislative power branch organ is a unicameral parliament that has 125 MPs. The MPs are elected as based on the majority electoral system by free, private and confidential vote reliant on the general, equitable and immediate suffrage. The tenure of a Milli Majlis convocation is 5 years.